Degustabox – June’s food surprises (including a tasty recipe)

As some of you may know, I’m a sucker for a mystery box!

So when I found out about Degustabox, I just couldn’t resist…

Degusta4

Degustabox send out monthly surprise boxes filled with 9 – 14 products.

Many of which are new to the market – which added to my excitement!

The June box was filledwith the following delights:

Degusta3

Lambrini Strawberry 

Bringing a new flavour to the brand – you can now buy Lambrini Strawberry. I’m looking forward to a bbq at the weekend and trying out this new flavour – it looks lovely!

Estrella Damm

The ‘beer of Barcelona’ is now going to be available in cans this summer. Husband was very pleased to see this included in the mystery box!

2 x Be Fast shakes

I’m often in a rush in the mornings, but I’m the sort of person that has to have some breakfast otherwise I’m flagging mid morning. These banana shakes are great for breakfast on the go – and were very tasty.

Bear: Alphabites

As a mother of a toddler, I’ve bought other Bear products in the past. I love their Yoyos. So I was pleased to learn that they’ve added a cereal to their list of products. The no refined sugar, no salt and no added nonsense cereal has been a hit with both my son and I. In fact even though the box arrived just before lunch we both had a bowl straightaway! Very tasty – and fun. I’ve also discovered they sell a ‘Cocoa Multigrain’ – this has been added to my shopping list already…

Elizabeth Shaw Flutes

These chocolate flutes are moreish! With a hint of Amaretto (but no alcohol) we’re enjoying munching through these.

Urban Fruit – Pineapple Snack Pack

These gently baked snacks are the perfect size for a little fruity treat. Read on to see how we used them in a tasty muffin recipe.

Veetee Rice

Although rice doesn’t take long to cook, I often use quick cook rice packs for the days I work. I set off the slowcooker in the morning and love knowing that when I get through the door I just need to pop the rice in the microwave and in a couple of minutes we can eat. These Veetee rice packs will add a nice bit of extra flavour to our dinner.

Dr Oetker Madagascan Vanilla Grinder

Now I love to bake. I’ve got some lovely vanilla essence in the cupboard but the vanilla from this grinder is something else! The smell as we opened the seal was simply delicious. We used it in our muffin recipe below, but we’re also planning to make some vanilla icecream this weekend – can’t wait!

Shaken Udder Milkshake

I didn’t get a chance to try this because as soon as my son spotted it, it was gone! Another product which contains no artificial flavours, colours or preservatives – and another very tasty product (so I was told!).

* * *

Along with the food came a June info sheet which gave details about each product. On the reverse of this sheet, were some recipe suggestions that included some of the products from the box. We didn’t have all the ingredients for the ‘Gluten Free Nutty Carrot Cakes’ recipe but we used it for inspiration…

  Carrot and Pineapple Muffins

Degusta6

Degusta2

Ingredients

130g plain flour

1 tsp baking powder

2 tsp ground cinnamon

Dr Oetker Madagascan Vanilla Grinder

150g light brown sugar

35 g Urban Fruit pineapple pieces

2 medium eggs

150ml sunflower oil

150g finely grated carrot

Degusta5

To decorate: white icing to dribble (icing sugar and water)

Method

1. Preheat the oven to 180C and line a muffin tin with 9 cases.

2. Sift the flour, baking powder and cinnamon in a bowl.

3. Use the grinder, to grind 5 – 6 turns on vanilla in to the flour mixture.

4. Stir in the sugar and pineapple pieces (we tore these into smaller pieces).

5. Add the eggs and oils and stir to more a thick batter.

6. Stir in the grated carrot.

7. Divide between the muffin cases and place in the oven for about 30 minutes.

Degusta1

8. Leave to cool in the in the tin for 10 – 15 minutes and then turn out onto a wire rack.

9. When cool, mix together a couple of tablespoons of icing sugar with a teaspoon of water. Drizzle over the muffins.

Degusta6

This recipe worked really well – the carrot and pineapple are a lovely combination. Because the pineapple has already been gently baked they add a great chewy texture to the muffins.

* * *

Degustaboxes cost £12.99 including delivery.

They ensure the box value exceeds the price you pay. I worked out that this box would have cost me approx £20.

If you’d like to try them out you can get a £3.00 discount when registering with the code ZPWC5

For more info check out their Facebook page.

* * *

Degustabox kindly sent us a box to review. This in no way influenced our review though.

Leave a Reply

