Are you up to speed with baby first aid?

When my eldest (now 4) was a baby, I attended a first aid course run by St John Ambulance.

I remember sitting through the class trying to take everything in, and worrying that I would forget something!

I have regular updates on first aid at work as well, so I was hopeful that it was all sinking in.

I’m very relieved to say that I didn’t forget on Monday.

My youngest (9 months) was happily crawling around on the floor and then suddenly started choking.

Immediately, I picked him up, lay him over my arm and started the back slaps.

It felt like I was doing it forever – but it was only seconds.

My poor little baby didn’t know what was going on!

But in the roof of his mouth I found the culprit.

IMG_20150930_120145

The corner of a packet of frozen peas!

Such a small piece of plastic created such panic within me.

But despite the complete and utter panic I was feeling, I remembered what to do.

And it worked.

It worked.

He’s OK (and I’ve just about recovered too!).

Please make sure you are up to speed on your first aid.

If you aren’t – some of these might help…

You can download a handy poster on ‘5 Ways to Save Your Baby’s Life’ from St John Ambulance here.

This advert was also created by them and is very helpful!

St John Ambulance and The Red Cross run first aid classes.

And they both also have apps you can download (SJA here and Red Cross here).

Twinkly Tuesday

6 thoughts on “Are you up to speed with baby first aid?

  1. Such a great post and something that can sometimes be overlooked by parents until you find yourself in a situation where you need to use it. Glad to hear your little one was ok and hopefully you weren’t to shaken afterwards. I too have done a first aid course and am thankful I know basic first aid skills should I need to ever use them. Recently we had a situation at a local toddler group and the event highlighted to all us mum’s even those who had first aid training that it would be good to book ourselves all on a course to either learn or keep ourselves refreshed on what to do in emergency situations. #twinklytuesday

  2. Thank you for sharing this post- what an excellent reminder. I am so glad you included those resources as well- I had not seen the video before and found it very helpful. So glad you and baby are OK! #twinklytuesday

  3. I use to be a St Johns voluntary first aider and there is no better valued experience than being able to help your baby/children in such a panicked moment. Ive had to give the old back slaps a go too and it put my heart in my mouth! I think it should be compulsory training before leaving an hospital with a newborn! xx #TwinklyTuesday

  4. Such an important topic. I am signed up for a first aid class this month run by my local children’s centre. My little girl chocked on her own vomit when she was around 4 weeks old and my first instinct was to flip her onto her stomach and give her a good pat on the back. I was so scared but it worked.

    #twinklytuesday

  5. Thank you so much for this. I really need a reminder. I did a first aid course 5 years ago when my eldest was born, but I definitely need a refresher. It’s so important to be prepared, and this will definitely help. Off to download the poster now! #twinklytuesday

  6. Thank goodness that you knew exact what to do. Of all the things there is to choke on you wouldn’t have thought it would be that. I’m going to have a look for a first aid class. Thanks for sharing and I’m glad all is ok. Thanks for linking up with #TwinklyTuesday

Leave a comment